Expanded Star Trek II: The Wrath of Khan soundtrack now available

Over the last few weeks, I have been trying to avoid Star Trek stories after hitting Trek overload in the days leading up to and following the excellent new film. However, this story is too enticing to pass up.

From the projects we never thought would happen department, finally, after a 27-year wait, an expanded version of the soundtrack to Star Trek II: The Wrath of Khan is now available. The James Horner masterpiece is an exclusive release from Film Score Monthly, the same folks that released last year’s critically acclaimed Superman: The Music boxed set.

The new Star Trek film, along with the Star Trek: Remastered television series, has helped to cast a new spotlight on the adventures of the original crew. This is a wonderful time to be a classic Star Trek fan.

Go to Film Score Monthly for more information on the expanded Star Trek II: The Wrath of Khan soundtrack, including sound clips. I’ll close by whetting your appetite with a track listing of both the original release (top) and the expanded release (bottom):

Star Trek II: The Wrath of Khan
Music Composed and Conducted by James Horner

Original Soundtrack Album
01. “Main Title” (3:03)
02. “Surprise Attack” (5:06)
03. “Spock” (1:10)
04. “Kirk’s Explosive Reply” (4:02)
05. “Khan’s Pets” (4:18)
06. “Enterprise Clears Moorings” (3:32)
07. “Battle in the Mutara Nebula” (8:08)
08. “Genesis Countdown” (6:36)
09. “Epilogue”/”End Title” (8:40)
Total Running Time: 44 minutes, 50 seconds

Expanded Soundtrack Album
01. “Main Title” (3:06)
02. “Surprise on Ceti Alpha V” (0:45)
03. “Khan’s Pets” (4:19)
04. “The Eels of Ceti Alpha V”/”Kirk in Space Shuttle” (3:53)
05. “Enterprise Clears Moorings” (3:33)
06. “Chekov Lies” (0:40)
07. “Spock” (1:12)
08. “Kirk Takes Command”/”He Tasks Me” (2:07)
09. “Genesis Project” (Composed and Performed by Craig Huxley) (3:16)
10. “Surprise Attack” (5:07)
11. “Kirk’s Explosive Reply” (4:01)
12. “Inside Regula I” (1:35)
13. “Brainwashed” (1:24)
14. “Captain Terrell’s Death” (1:58)
15. “Buried Alive” (0:57)
16. “The Genesis Cave” (1:09)
17. “Battle in the Mutara Nebula” (8:07)
18. “Enterprise Attacks Reliant” (1:29)
19. “Genesis Countdown” (6:34)
20. “Spock (Dies)” (1:53)
21. “Amazing Grace” (1:26)
22. “Epilogue”/”End Title” (8:41)
23. Bonus: “Epilogue” (original version)/”End Title” (7:29)
Total Running Time: 75 minutes, 28 seconds